Quick Answer: What Are The Nine Types Of Muscular Dystrophy?

There are nine major forms of muscular dystrophy:

  • Myotonic.
  • Duchenne.
  • Becker.
  • Limb-girdle.
  • Facioscapulohumeral.
  • Congenital.
  • Oculopharyngeal.
  • Distal.

What are the different types of muscular dystrophy?

The Major Forms of Muscular Dystrophy

  1. Myotonic (also called MMD or Steinert’s disease).
  2. Duchenne.
  3. Becker.
  4. Limb-girdle.
  5. Facioscapulohumeral.
  6. Congenital.
  7. Oculopharyngeal.
  8. Distal.

Is myasthenia gravis a type of muscular dystrophy?

This includes muscular dystrophy, myasthenia gravis, Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease (CMT) and a disease called inflammatory myopathy, which causes chronic muscle inflammation and weakness. Muscular dystrophy is an inherited condition in which gradually causes the muscles to waste and weaken.

What is the most common muscular dystrophy?

Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD)

DMD is the most common form of the disease and approximately half of all pediatric patients have this severe type.

How many types of muscular dystrophy have been Recognised?

There are more than 30 forms of muscular dystrophy (MD), with information on the primary types included in the table below. The most common and severe form of MD among children, DMD accounts for more than 50% of all cases.